Frank Schneider

I already started with photography whilst at highschool. One of my early short exams was a fictious Formula-1 reportage. Somehow, that must have pointed out my later profession…

Frank
After my sportdiver certification in 1982 a more or less technical question to the chiefeditor of the scuba diving magazine "tauchen" surprisingly lead to the first order to write a travel report. This article, published in 1983, eventually turned out to be the starting point for my career as travel-journalist. My articles have been published in many countries, including Italy, Spain, England, Norway, Denmark, the Netherlands, Austria, Switzerland, Russia, Turkey and Croatia.

Today I work with the two digital Nikon-SLR-cameras "Nikon D3" and "Nikon D3X" and I use original Nikon lenses. Those range from a "16 mm fisheye" up to the telezoom "VR 70-200 mm", all which have a 2.8 f-stop.

Under water I use the "Nikon D3" in a Seacam housing together with the Nikon f2,8/16 mm fisheye lens, the f2,8/14-24 mm wide angle zoom from Nikon and the Nikon  60 mm macro lens. One or two flashlights "Seacam Seaflash 150 TTL" take care of light and colors.

I entirely depend on my own equipment by Cressi-sub when it comes to reports which include underwater photography. I use a dry suit for cold water dives and neoprene-suits of diverse thickness depending on the waters to dive in. Other than that, the models of mine and I dive with the Cressi BCD "Travel Light" and "Cressi Ellipse Titanium – Mc9-SC" regulators or "Cressi Compact XS -MC9" regulators.. For our safety we rely on the Cressi computers "Giotto" and "Leonardo".

Nearly all my articles feature a female model because, even though images of pure nature can be quite nice, it is always recommendable to liven up pictures with people. An experienced photo model is indispensable – and for professional underwater photography she must have the nerve to pose for the camera both in the close company of sharks as well as on a dreamlike beach.

Frank Schneider

Mit der Fotografie habe ich mich schon während meiner Zeit auf dem Gymnasium beschäftigt, und eine der frühen "Klassenarbeiten" war eine fiktive Reportage. Irgendwie hat sich das über die Zeit gerettet …

Frank
Nach meinem Tauchschein 1982 bescherte mir eine Fachfrage an den damaligen Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift tauchen mehr als völlig unerwartet den ersten Auftrag für eine Reisereportage, deren Veröffentlichung 1983 für mich letztendlich die Initialzündung für den Beruf des Reisejournalisten darstellt. Mittlerweile sind Artikel von mir in Italien, Spanien, England, Norwegen, Dänemark, den Niederlanden, Österreich, der Schweiz, der Türkei, Russland und Kroatien erschienen.

Ich arbeite mit Nikon-SLR-Kameras und Nikon-Objektiven: an Land mit der digitalen "Nikon D3X", dazu jeweils ausnahmslos mit Blende f 2,8 sehr lichtstarke Original-Objektive von Nikon. Unter Wasser kommt eine "Nikon D3" in einem Seacam Gehäuse mit Sportsucher "S180" zum Einsatz. Dazu verwende ich drei Objektive (das Fisheye f2,8/16 mm, das Super-Weitwinkelzoom f2,8/14-24 mm und ein Makro-Objektiv).

Für Reportagen, bei denen das Tauchen mit auf dem Programm steht, vertraue ich grundsätzlich auf meine eigene Ausrüstung von Cressi-sub. Für kaltes Wasser gehört ein Trockentauchanzug dazu, ansonsten tauchen meine Models und ich mit verschiedenen Cressi-Neoprenanzügen in unterschiedlichen Ausführungen. Als Atemregler kommen der "Cressi Ellipse Titanium – MC9-SC" oder der "Cressi Compact XS – MC9" zum Einsatz. Für die Tauchsicherheit vetrauen wir auf die Cressi-Computer "Giotto" und "Leonardo".

Meine Artikel entstehen fast ausnahmslos in Zusammenarbeit mit einem Model, denn so schön ein Foto der unberührten Natur auch ist, so notwendig ist es, andere Reportagebilder mit Menschen lebendig zu gestalten. Ein kameraerfahrenes Model ist dabei unabdingbar – und für die Unterwasserfotos muss sie neben einem Hai genauso "mit der Kamera leben können" wie am Traumstrand.